Himachal Pradesh (India) – Public Holidays 2012

Public holidays decleared by the Himachal Pradesh government for the year 2012 in India. Check dates and more details for Republic Day, Maha Shivratri, Holi, Mahavir Jayanthi, Good Friday, May Day, Buddha Purnima, Krishna Janmastami, Independence Day, Ganesh Chaturthi, Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi, Vijaya Dashami, Diwali, Guru Nanak Jayanthi, Christmas and other important holidays.

Month Day Week Day Name
January 25 Wednesday State-Hood Day
January 26 Thursday Republic Day
February 7 Tuesday Guru Ravidas B’day
February 20 Monday Maha Shivratri
March 8 Thursday Holi
April 1 Sunday Ram Navmi
April 14 Saturday Dr. B.R. Ambedkar’s B’day
April 15 Sunday Himachal Day
May 6 Sunday Buddha Purnima
June 4 Monday Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti
August 10 Friday Janamashtami
August 15 Wednesday Independence Day
August 20 Monday Idu’l Fitr
October 2 Tuesday Mahatma Gandhi’s B’day
October 24 Wednesday Dussehra
October 27 Saturday Id-Ul-Juha (Bakrid)
October 29 Monday Maharishi Valmiki’s B’day
November 13 Tuesday Diwali
November 25 Sunday Muharam
November 28 Wednesday Guru Nanak Dev’s B’day
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day

Restricted Holidays declared for the Himachal Pradesh

Month Day Week Day Restricted Holidays
January 14 Saturday Makara Sankranti/Lohri
January 28 Saturday Basanta Panchami
February 5 Sunday Id-E-Milad
February 16 Tuesday Sawami Dayananda Sawarswati Jayanti
April 5 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti
April 6 Friday Good Friday
April 8 Sunday Easter Sunday
April 13 Friday Vaisakhi
April 24 Tuesday Parshu Ram Jayanti
August 2 Thursday Raksha Bandhan *
October 22 Monday Maha Ashtami
November 2 Friday Karva Chauth*
November 14 Wednesday Govardhan Puja
November 15 Thursday Bhai Duj *
November 24 Saturday Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdrom Day
December 24 Monday Christmas Eve

* Raksha Bandhan, Bhai Duj and Karwa Chauth declared as Gazetted Holidays for women employees of State Govt.

Holidays in Himachal Pradesh

Republic Day

The Republic Day of India is a national holiday of India to mark the adoption of the Constitution of India and the transition of India from a British Dominion to a republic on January 26, 1950. It is one of the three national holidays in India.

Maha Shivratri

Maha Shivratri, the night of the worship of Lord Shiva, occurs on the 14th night of the new moon during the dark half of the month of Phalguna. It falls on a moonless February night, when Hindus offer special prayer to the lord of destruction.


Holi, also known as Dhuli Vandana in Sanskrit,also Dhulheti, Dhulandi or Dhulendi, is celebrated by people throwing coloured powder and coloured water at each other.

Mahavir Jayanti

In Jainism, Mahavir Jayanti is the most important religious holiday. It celebrates the birth of Mahavira, the last Tirthankara. He was born on the 13th day of the rising moon of Chaitra, in either 599 BC or 615 BC (depending on religious tradition).

Good Friday

Good Friday, also known as Holy Friday, Black Friday, Great Friday, is a religious holiday observed primarily by Christians commemorating the crucifixion of Jesus Christ and his death at Calvary.

May Day

‘May Day’ is commemorated in India as the ‘Labour Day’ which began with the United States Labour Movement on May 1, 1886.

Buddha Purnima

Buddha Jayanti or also known as Buddha Purnima is the most sacred festivals of Buddhist. Buddha Purnima (Buddha Birthday) is celebrated in remembrance Lord Buddha. Lord Buddha is the founder of Buddhism. This day is the birth anniversary of Lord Buddha.

Independence Day

India’s Independence Day is celebrated on August 15 to commemorate its independence from British rule and its birth as a sovereign nation on that day in 1947. The day is a national holiday in India.

Krishna Janmastami

Krishna Janmashtami , also known as “Krishnashtami”,”Saatam Aatham” ,”Gokulashtami”, “Ashtami Rohini”, “Srikrishna Jayanti”, “Sree Jayanthi” or sometimes merely as “Janmashtami”, is a Hindu festival celebrating the birth of Lord Krishna, an avatar of the Hindu deity Vishnu.


Eid al-Fitr often abbreviated to Eid, is a Muslim holiday that marks the end of Ramadan, the Islamic holy month of fasting (sawm).The holiday symbolizes the breaking of the fasting period.

Ganesh Chaturthi

Ganesha Chaturthi , also known as Vinayaka Chaturthi, is the Hindu festival of Ganesha. It is the birthday of Lord Ganesha who is widely worshiped as the god of wisdom, prosperity and good fortune.

Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi

Gandhi Jayanti is a national holiday celebrated in India to mark the occasion of the birthday of Mahatma Gandhi, the “Father of the Nation”. It is celebrated on October 2, every year. It is one of the three official declared National Holidays of India and is observed in all its states and union territories.

Vijaya Dashami

Vijayadashami is a festival celebrated in varying forms across Nepal and India. It is celebrated on the tenth day of the bright fortnight (Shukla Paksha) of the Hindu autumn month of Ashvin or Ashwayuja, and is the grand culmination of the 10-day annual Navaratri festival. Vijayadashami is also known as Dasara, Dashahara, Navaratri, and Durgotsav. It is celebrated in the lunar month of Ashwin from the Shukla Paksha Pratipada to the Dashami, or the tenth day of Ashwin.


Diwali (often written Deepavali) is a significant festival in Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism, and Jainism, and an official holiday in India. Adherents of these religions celebrate Diwali as the Festival of Lights. They light diyas—cotton-like string wicks inserted in small clay pots filled with coconut oil—to signify victory of good over the evil within an individual.

Guru Nanak Jayanthi

Guru Nanak Jayanti is the birthday of the first Sikh Guru, Guru Nanak, and one of the most sacred festivals in Sikhism. Guru Nanak Dev Ji (the First Guru, the founder of Sikhism) was born on 14 April 1469 in Rai-Bhoi-di Talwandi in the present Shekhupura District of Pakistan, now Nankana Sahib.


Christmas or Christmas Day is a holiday observed mostly on December 25 to commemorate the birth of Jesus, the central figure of Christianity.

*** visit *** State of Himachal Pradesh – Public Holidays 2012